Evri – end of the standalone news site?

How do you find information?

Once upon a time you went to an encyclopedia. Then the Internet gave us the world wide web which eventually gave us Google. Today an overwhelming majority of people use Google’s search service to find specific sites and information.

What if you don’t know what you want to find?

People read newspapers and magazines to learn what is happening. They don’t know specifically what they are trying to find, but they know they want to know what is going on in the world around them.

Facebook and Twitter allow people who see something of interest to share it with others.

Begun as a semantic recommendation service, http://www.evri.com now calls itself a topic based news service. I visited it today, scrolled over “US & World” and saw “Blackberry” was trending. Having one myself, I decided to click on it and find out why.

Evri provides a list of ‘connected’ topics, it shows its trending based on mentions over the past 30 days, and it has articles and tweets related to the topic in order of most recent at the top similar to a blog. It also has links to Amazon if I wanted to buy one, and to competitors if I wanted to compare them. And there is a description of blackberry from Wikipedia. Of course if I want to share something on Facebook I can.

Compare this to either Google or a traditional news service. With Google I need to know what I’m looking for and with a traditional news service I only get content from that single source. Combine search aggregation of Google with a news service and allow it to be shared socially, and you’ve got an interesting new portal for people to use to find content on a variety of topics in one place.

It will be interesting to see the impact Evri has as it gains user share on standalone news sites.
Comments are closed.