Online Resumes

Search Engine Journal had an article titled, “Build and Promote Your Online Resume With DoYouBuzz.”

Having been searching for the right job for longer than I’d like to admit, I decided to give it a go. The basic service is very easy if you have a LinkedIn account. You sign up, link to your LinkedIn account, and your info is ported over to DoYouBuzz.

They URL includes your name, at least mine did, as my name is rather uncommon, I don’t have to compete with every other John Doe.

I could also link to my blog and feeds were linked to on the site.

At the end of the day though, it wasn’t that much different from a basic site I could have set up, which got me thinking about how an interactive resume would look.

After sometime, I realized that the resume I was interested in presenting was one that focused on skills and abilities as opposed to career path. My first thought was mind mapping, which led to tag clouds, and brought me to WordPress.

I had a blog using my name, which I registered simply to have, and started adding posts beginning with HS and worked my way forward chronologically. I used categories to distinguish Employment from Volunteer work, etc., and I found a list of HR competencies that I used as tags for consistency.

The result is here. Let me know what you think.

Comments are closed.