Find & Seek Approach to Analytics

In May my corporate analytics changed to Google, which was great because our paid version did not include the segmentation module (I can hear Avinash groaning from the opposite coast).

With several months of data now available to explore, I did a deep dive.

I’d been considering the segmentation that I wanted to implement related to establishing a marketing funnel. In the final analysis in addition to a complete roll-up, I wanted to segregate the users into two core groups, Seekers, those who intentionally were looking for our company and Finders, those who knew they wanted a specific product or service, but didn’t include a company name.

I also determined that I didn’t care about all of my site traffic, only the traffic that originated in the United States (where we sell our products) and didn’t come from the corporation itself – the people we could sell to!

This segment reduced my traffic by 20%. I then created a “no bounce” segment. I defined this as, again, from US, not corporate (used in all segments I won’t keep repeating it after this), more than one page and spent more than one minute on site.

I then created some segments around the Contact Us page, form, and completed forms.

To identify how many users were actively engaging the site I created a segment that included those who viewed more than three pages, spent more than three minutes on site, and returned within 180 days of previous visit.  Close to 90% of our form completions are from this segment.

To identify the ‘Found’ users, I selected organic search as source who didn’t use our company name in the keywords. The ones seeking us either used our name in search or came via direct traffic.

I then applied my funnel across these two user groups and started looking for similarities and differences.

In both groups the engaged segment stayed on site more than 12 minutes on average.  The similarities ended there.

From the Seek segment I found 59% of unique visitors who were seeking us left within two pages and under one minute of visiting. I wondered, “Why?”

I opened the segment, and went to Traffic Sources, Sources, Direct and opened the Landing Page report.  13% to cleaning & sterilization (very important for a medical device), 6% of these people went to the repair portal, 4% got a phone number for a rep, and 3% went to our press page.

This means a quarter of the people I thought had bounced had simply gotten what they needed in a hurry! Another 33% (or more) didn’t use keywords to indicate they were seeking our medical division and were probably looking for consumer cameras or audio equipment.

I’m looking forward to continuing to dig into these segments to gain insight and make changes on the site to move numbers in the direction I want them to go.

Comments are closed.