Plinky Prompts Defeat Writer’s Block

I signed up for Plinky in June of 2009 with the best of intentions. I wanted to take a daily break to clear my head and engage in a little creativity prompted by the question of the day that Plinky asked me to write.

I didn’t do so well.

According to my Plink stats I’ve written 33 answers, 8 of which have been in the past 30 days. My goal is to write an answer a day and post it to Twitter via BufferApp for my evening Tweet.

So what is Plinky?

Plinky is a niche social site. Members are given a prompt for them to answer, they can read other members’ responses, can favorite and/or comment on one another’s answers, and can follow members. You can also see answers to prompts written by others and post your answers to Facebook, Twitter and some other services.

The site is small, which is not unexpected. A post on the Plinky Blog from last year notes the site was closing on 1000 answers. Thursday’s prompt, though has drawn 70 responses so far (interestingly 9 of first 12 including my own claimed chess as their favorite board game;-).

I also scrolled through members and stopped at page 50 with 10 per page, which tells me that many have registered but most don’t regularly use. While writing this post, I decided what I’d do is follow fellow Plinkians who have 20 or more answers and see if I can build a network of the actual users. We’ll see how that goes.

All in all this is a great little site for people who enjoy writing and thinking, a brief escape from the daily grind that will leave you mentally refreshed and rejuvenated.

Comments are closed.