Growth of Blogging vs. Blog Value

With new social sites and services popping up on a regular basis it seems that email and “traditional” blogging, not to mention Web sites, tend to get overlooked and neglected.

Personally, I see the Web site as the hub of all digital strategy. Email is a great tool to drive people to your site and blogging is a great way to provide current thoughts on topics of interest to your audience.

To that end, I currently follow 210 blogs through Google Reader and find it is the best way to stay abreast of what is happening. Amazingly, I post on average two links to blog posts per day to Twitter (micro-blogging as opposed to ‘traditional’) that I find of significant value or interest. My other two posts are a quote of Baltasar Gracian and in the evening a creative writing piece prompted by Plinky (a form of social blogging itself).

Doing the math, I post maybe 60 links per month, but my Reader stats tell me I’ve scanned 8,473 items over the past 30 days, meaning I find less than 1% of posts to be significant or interesting to my Twitter followers. I also noticed that 22 of these sites put out on average three blog posts per day.

Yesterday, I came across a post from Andy Beal’s Marketing Pilgrim that referenced a chart by NM Incite indicating that blogging is growing at a healthy rate.

The chart shows that from 2008 to 2010 the number of blogs tracked by NM Incite nearly doubled, and from 2010 to 2011 the number increased by 25,000,000. The original post with the chart provides some stats about who is blogging and the Beal post addresses why it is growing (“The need for a place for more developed thoughts and examinations of subjects has actually never been greater”), but the quality factor was not addressed.

The value of each blog post is really what is important. In scanning posts I can see what is trending, and that has a value in and of itself, but I’m often searching for the items I want to hold onto. The one’s I’ll refer to and utilize, either now or down the road.

Probably one of the biggest reasons I don’t blog more often in this space is because I want posts to be meaningful. After all, if I’m writing what everyone is writing, I’m simply additional noise.

So back to value, while I’m seeking blogs that inform, I’m really looking at per post value.  In my Reader stats, when I visit Clicks (this is a bit arbitrary because some blogs allow me to read everything and others only a title and sentence or two), I find that only 17 sources where clicked through two times or more.

When I look at my Tweets, I find that many times the blog uses either a guest writer or is writing about a post from another blogger. This further diffuses the sources of the content I find interesting.

I guess in short blogs are no different than the internet in general, there is a tremendous need to filter in order to find what matters to me.

This is what I try to do with my Twitter stream, filter for my followers and, this is what Google is trying to do, and many bloggers are upset with it.

 

Comments are closed.