Does Office Work Cause Physical Harm?

Previously I mentioned the fact that I try to get out to walk each day during lunch as a refresh during the workday.

I also noted that I had started to use the Noom Walk app for Android, to see how much daily activity I actually engage in.

While on vacation, I came across this article on Scientific American, “Why do I think Better After I Exercise?

I agree with the article, I definitely feel better and have a clear head after walking, but what I found is that while I am at work I do a dis-service to my body.

For the past two weeks I was feeling really good, humidity was low, school was out so no kids to get up, ready and to school, and my wife and I took advantage by getting a walk in before work, then I took one at lunch and was averaging between 8,000 and 10,000 steps per day when I remembered to carry my personal phone, which had the app running.

Last week I worked on Monday and took the rest of the week off, we enjoyed some time in Washington, DC and given the walking there hit 10,000 – 13,000 steps per day.

Then this week I was in on Monday and Tuesday and barely hit 3,000 per day, desk jockey I am, coupled with really high humidity that resulted in my not taking a mid-day or morning walk.

This morning, day off, I headed out to the dog park at 6:00 a.m. and already have nearly 1,500 steps by 7:30.

I’m not sure what I can do to improve the time I am moving and reduce the time I’m sitting each day (Google search, “Physical Harm from Sitting” for all the articles), but Noom Walk is definitely showing me what a dramatic difference a day in the office vs. one away makes.

 

Comments are closed.